I Survived: WyCo

Go ahead! Grab a pickle, I have them right here!

At 7:00 AM CST in the summer month of July, a random Saturday, I joined a group of 20+ people and embarked on a memorable journey through woods, rocks, mud, and everything else you could imagine.

I decided to take on “WyCo”.

A little background…Kansas City, surprising to many, has several elaborate trail routes throughout the metro area. They are found on all four sides of the city, and range from lakeside trails, urban rock trails, and a combination in between. Elevations vary, and there is a unique organization that ensures that they are kept in stellar condition by closing them when it rains. “WyCo” is short of Wyandotte County Park. Located in the far northwest corner of the Kansas City area “WyCo” is where runners go to train for all the other courses in the region. In other words; if you can survive “WyCo”, in theory you should be able to survive anything.

It all started with a simple question on Facebook; one of the local runners was curious about the new ‘summer loop’ at WyCo and wanted to run it. This spurred on a conversation that lasted for most of the week prior to the run. In total 23 people from around the region showed up to explore this new route. The ‘summer route’ is a 10.5 mile loop that will be used during the “Psycho Psummer” race hosted by the local group, the Trail Nerds.

I tried to explain on Facebook that I was slow, otherwise I would join them. However, my plea for pity fell on deaf ears. All people were wise and wanting for me to explore “WyCo” with them. I had no choice because something in my soul, the pit of it, was saying that this experience might be fun.

The group began with a very light jog through the grass to beginning of the trail system. At “WyCo” there are two types of trails; one set is closed when it rains, the other set is not. This loop we were taking was a combination of both. For the first mile to two miles I trekked through mud and water that soaked my feet (I was later laughed at for referring to this as muddy, as I was informed this is the driest “WyCo” has been in years). After churning through that mess I was blessed with six miles of groomed trails, major thanks to the local Boy Scout troops for maintaining it, and was kicked out on the dam of Wyandotte Lake. At this point, since I don’t wear a GPS watch, I had assumed that we had completed three to four miles. We were just under two hours, I was in the back of the overall group, so I assumed that it had felt like three miles.

By the time I met with large groups again it had turned out that we had already covered six to seven miles. Only three miles remained on the course. This was mind-blowing for myself; I had never gone running and underestimated how far I had run. This was largely in part to myself being well hydrated, my joints didn’t ache, and I had people that were pacing with me through most of the trip. Those elements really take away from the daunting experience of that many miles through singletrack trails.

While I was glowing in knowing that I was doing relatively well, I had begun to pick up on people making note of an event ahead…

The three sisters are coming. They’re in the last mile of the route.

I have learned that any geographical area that gets its own nickname is something to be cautious about.

They were not kidding.

The final mile of the loop, which will be the final mile of the upcoming race, is met with three very disturbing hills. The first is extremely length, the deep ruts ‘swallow you’ at one point, and in many instances runners have stopped half way up the hill, sat down, and cried. The second wasn’t as bad, but that is because the perspective of the first is still fresh in your head. The final hill is just awful because you already covered the first two. Mind you, this is the end of the course. Meaning, you have already logged eight to nine miles, you are fatigued, and this is standing in your way before you can finish. Make no mistake, it is very hard. There are running groups that come out just to run the ‘three sisters’ for hill training.

The nice part is understanding that after you have completed that last hill, there isn’t even half a mile left before you are finished.

What I Learned:

I am so, so grateful I went off on this journey. One main reason was being able to tell myself that I can maintain myself that long on a run. Prior to that event last TRAIL TIP 7weekend I had only ran seven miles on a road without stopping. Being able to log these miles was a huge self-esteem boost for next weekend. The second reason I’m
grateful for this experience is because it gave me a course outline of the upcoming race. I am registered to run this exact course, so knowing what to expect at each juncture throughout the course is relieving. When signing up for a race, be sure that you have taken the time to do appropriate research. Unlike a road race, Google Maps may not show you every tip and trick for the upcoming course.

Finally, as I’m continuing to learn over and over and over. The trail running community is extremely close-knit. I once read that trail racing is not you against the other person; it is you against the mountain, the path, your demons, yourself, the mileage, etc…This has to be one of the few sports out there were the people around you are not just only the competition, but also your friends.

 

 

 

 

 

 

fly.

2 thoughts on “I Survived: WyCo

  1. Pingback: Race Recap: Psycho Psummer…My First Ever – flyover

  2. Pingback: Santa Is A Cheater – flyover

Leave a Reply

